23 October, 2005

100 years ago: Session 1905-06; Meeting II

Sederunt 47
The Annual Dinner of the Society was held in the Grosvenor Restaurant Gordon Street, Glasgow on Thursday 19th October 1905.

Dinner was served about 7pm.

The President was in the chair and Sir Wm Taylor KCB the honorary president of the Society was present as guest of the society. In all 47 gentlemen were present.

The dinner was excellent and well served.

The usual toasts were proposed & responded to heartily, and many interesting and amusing after dinner speeches were evolved in this connection.

During dinner music was provided by members of the Grosvenor Restaurant band and after dinner a varied programme of songs, recitations, picolo & piano selections was gone through by members & their guests the names of the performers being Drs Gunn, Wright Thomson, Wauchope, Bruce, T.K. Monro, Lang, Richmond & R.T. Halliday & Messers [...] White & MacCallum.

During the course of the evening the names of the following 3 gentlemen were proposed for membership
1. Alexander McWilliam Watson, MB ChB.
Proposed by D. Johnston Fletcher
Seconded by John P. Duncan
2. A. Whyte Cassie 3 Clelland Place Ibrox
Proposed by R.T. Halliday
Seconded by A. Brown Kelly.
3. David Newman 28 Woodside Place
Proposed by John P. Duncan
Seconded by R. Wardrop Forrest

The President proposed that these gentlemen be forthwith elected & this was carried unanimously.

After a most enjoyable evening the dinner party broke up shortly after 11pm.
Ralph Stockman

Archive: Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow
Reference: GB 250 RCPSG 73/1/11 Minute Book No. 6